Finished Baby Beanie

Finished baby beanie – close up of flower

Thus far, this blog has not succeeded in shaming me into working on projects. But I did get the little beanie finished in time for the baby shower! They had also asked for favorite baby books in lieu of cards, so I added Eric Carle’s The Very Hungry Caterpillar. I just had to look up how to spell caterpillar. From what I remember, I actually used to pronounce it “catapittle,” maybe that’s why I still can’t spell it.

Anyway, back to the hat. It’s using the same patterns and yarn as detailed in Practice Beanie. I actually completed two, both the same colors (I told you they’re fast to make!). I added another row to both of them, but one I used the suggested hook size and it finished exactly newborn size at six inches wide. I went up a hook size on the second one, and it finished 7 inches wide. Here they are next to each other, plus the finished hat. I ended up giving them the larger one, so the baby could wear it a little longer.

Two beanies – left finished 7 inches, the right finished 6 inches

Finished beanie

In the end, it turned out okay. I think I should have adjusted something after adding a row, because the hat looks kind of oddly shaped, but I don’t wear hats anyway, so what do I know. The larger hook size makes it a little loose, so it’s very soft. The whole thing is also washable, including the button which is handy. I’m not sure how often it’s necessary to wash baby hats, but I guess you never know. I’ve heard stories of blowouts. Also blowups.

On a completely different note, here is an explanation for the random trash that I leave on my floor and furniture:

Sylvie in a box

Peter sitting in a box

They love boxes, even if they can’t actually fit inside them. Sylvie is also very fond of paper bags, so I always leave them on the floor until it finally gets squashed beyond repair. Yay, cheap cat toys!

2 thoughts on “Finished Baby Beanie

Leave a Reply

